Mudluscious

Hello everyone!

I managed to make it to the end of the semester – finally with a day off. I’ve been working really long hours at Lieberman’s Bookstore because of buyback (we purchase textbooks from students for the upcoming semester). It was long and stressful days on top of attempting to study for my exam and finishing up final projects for my art classes. I am so happy this semester is over. Last night I fell asleep at 8:30 PM and slept until 8:30 AM this morning. It was rough balancing three jobs and school work all semester, but it is over and I am ready for a much needed break. Today I am going to the flea market and later baking Christmas cookies. :O) I will be updating within the next few weeks with some of my semester’s work. I figured I would start now as I am waiting for Vinnie to wake up so we can head over to the flea market.

The assignment (called “Elucidate the Text”) involved choosing a text – monologues, TV scripts, proverbs, lyrics, anything really – and visually interpreting its meaning with a twist. I chose to do the poem “in Just” by EE Cummings. He is by far my favorite poet and after countless hours of sketches, thumbnails, and research here are the results:

The more marketable and much more appropriate concept was to show the juxtaposition between childhood and adulthood. The poem is written through the eyes of a child – very playful in its form and diction. The idea was to take something very adult (such as alcohol) and create a brand that captures the youthfulness and playfulness of the poem (in turn making it childish). I will not come out and say the “twist” to the underlying interpretation, however, and those of you that are familiar with the poem may be able to piece it together.

Hope everyone enjoys the weekend. I’ll be working again tomorrow from open to close, but in the meantime I am going to embrace all the free-time I can get! :O)

Jennifer Leigh

Leave a comment